Nothing but the Blood.

Two weeks ago, I had one of those intense, overwhelming, emotional experiences that only comes from the Holy Spirit. You know those kind you had at church camps as a kid? Where the music and the message and the hands lifted high around you made tears fall hard and knees fall even harder? Some people call those spiritual highs, and sometimes they can be misleading, because you “feel” super close to God with all of that happening, yet when none of that is happening those “feelings” go away. Which makes sense because a relationship with God is not based on feelings, but rather on truth.

But sometimes spiritual highs are really good for the soul. The soul that’s had a rough week, or two. The soul that’s been giving a lot, yet not filling back up in return. The soul that’s just down for absolutely no reason at all. My soul falls into one or more of these categories so quickly, so there’s nothing like a spiritual high to jolt me out of complacency.

As you might know, we now have a church home. And a really beautiful part of our church home is that almost every Sunday, someone steps forward to be baptized, join the church, or simply ask for prayer. A few Sundays ago, this happened, but the young girl who stepped forward to be baptized was a 15 year old girl I’ve grown quite fond of the last few months. She’s spunky, and real, and just simply gets Jesus. Her testimony is one that sticks with you for a lifetime.

So clearly, God set me up for an emotional Sunday morning as I held her hand and watched her take this huge leap into her faith. But of course, it couldn’t have just ended there. I couldn’t have just sat in the pew and watched her be buried with Christ in baptism and raised to walk in a new life. No. She had to go and make things even more emotionally unstable for me. She asked if I, along with her close friends, would sing “Amazing Grace” right before she was immersed. Cue emotional breakdown.

I survived. With nervous, yet insanely talented, teenage girls next to me (and one brave guy), we sang a few lines of “Amazing Grace”, letting each of those words flow out of our mouths straight into our hearts. The church gazed up at us and I know they felt those words too. Deep in their hearts.

My little friend gave her confession, closed her eyes, and died. She sunk into the water a sinner. A girl who only had the hope of the world to cling to, which was nothing. A girl who felt shame, and guilt, and hurt, and pain. She sunk into the water. And out of the water she gained life. A girl who now hopes in an eternal God. A girl who now is covered by grace, who is made new. She still has hurt and pain, but now she has the Giver of forgiveness and love deep inside her heart. She’s washed clean as snow.

Baptism is beautiful. To me, it’s the most clear vision of what Jesus did for us on the cross and what is available to us now. Β We come as we are – broken, hopeless, guilty, ashamed, hurt, depressed, lost – and He takes our hand, dips us in water, and just like that…We are made new. We are clean. We are forgiven. We are loved. We are provided for. We have hope. We have peace. This representation of our commitment to Christ is beautiful because even though in that moment, all of our troubles and pain and worries don’t immediately go away, as if they never existed, we now have an eternal hope and the truth to rely on. Through Christ’s death, we now have the ability to be completely healed. We now have a life that depends on the Lord and not ourselves. We now have hope for something that our world cannot offer.

Still in the waters of the baptismal, my little friend’s family began to sing a song that is common among worship services and known by most. But those words held much more meaning to me on this particular Sunday. As her family began to sing, the entire congregation joined in. No instruments. No lights. No projectors. Just voices. All lifting up the name of Jesus.

Nothing but the Blood of Jesus

What can wash away my sin?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.
What can make me whole again?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

O precious is the flow
that makes me white as snow;
no other fount I know;
nothing but the blood of Jesus.

For my pardon this I see:
nothing but the blood of Jesus.
For my cleansing this my plea:
nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Nothing can for sin atone:
nothing but the blood of Jesus.
Naught of good that I have done:
nothing but the blood of Jesus.

This is all my hope and peace:
nothing but the blood of Jesus.
This is all my righteousness:
nothing but the blood of Jesus.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nothing but the Blood.

  1. Heather says:

    This is SO beautiful. Thank you.

  2. Domesticgoddess311 says:

    Chills and more chills

Leave a Reply

