These are my confessions.

Just when I thought I said all I could say…

HA. Kidding y’all. This is not a post about that terribly catchy, yet terribly wrong song about Usher cheating on his girlfriend with his chick on the side, who is-OMG-pregnant! Oh what ever will he do?! Tell her of course. Because he really hopes she can accept the fact that he’s man enough to tell her this.

I hope you can read my sarcasm (and catch the lyrical brilliantness in that last sentence). Don’t get me wrong, Confessions was my jam and this 23 year old woman just caught herself singing her heart out like that 12 year old girl she used to be. Because when you say the word confessions, you automatically sing “These are my confessions” out loud and must turn the song on at once. Just me? Oh well.

Confession: I love jumping on bandwagons.

I know it’s so unpopular to admit that one likes bandwagons and the fun they bring, but I’m here to be real with y’all. Bandwagons are exciting. Bandwagons are addicting. Bandwagons are just plain awesome sometimes and I CAN JUMP ON ONE IF I WANT TO. Geez, take a chill pill.

If you follow me on Instagram you know what recent bandwagon I’m talking about. Whole30.

I debated whether or not to write about our adventure into Whole30. Partly because I didn’t want to seem too cliche, and also because I didn’t want you to hold me accountable. There. I said it. But yet, here I am. The most cliche blogger you’ll ever meet, asking you to hold us accountable. And I don’t mean to sound as if SO many of you read my blog and SO many of you care about what we’re eating. I’m basically saying this to my few avid readers (read: four closest friends and mom). To any of you other kind readers-if you’re out there-I am welcoming any and all accountability.

For the last two months, we’ve been on a rampage with food. We end every meal with ice cream, with every meal usually containing at least two types of cheeses and a lot of carbs (that bad kind from warm, soft, sugary Krispy Kreme’s). It’s no coincidence that two months ago was our wedding day. Since November 7th, we’ve been living in that newlywed martial bliss of overwhelming confidence and joy that only comes from marriage. And although that bliss is in fact blissful, the pounds are not. I’ve realized how easy it is to let go of healthy habits when you’re so confident in yourself. Not that full-of-yourself confidence, but the kind that comes from your husband’s look or compliment. The kind that really radiates from your soul, not your pride.

THANKS A LOT HUBBY. You’ve made me confident and fat.

Kidding. Again.

So, in an effort to not lose that soul-deep confidence, yet get back to eating healthier, I’ve convinced Spencer to join me in Whole30. He was all about it until we got to the grocery store and realized that everything he wanted in the healthy category was actually not very healthy at all, and most definitely not allowed on Whole30. I don’t think my know-it-all label reading helped either. Oops.

“How about this Larabar?” said Hungry Hubby. (We all know this is not good for Hubby.)

“Does it have chocolate, vanilla extract, or peanut butter?” asked Label-Snob Logan.

Out of the cart went the Blueberry Muffin, Cappuccino, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, and Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip. Into the cart went Carrot Cake, Key Lime Pie, Apple Pie, and Lemon Bar. Oh the agony.

A few reasons why Whole30 sounded appealing to me: the clear guidelines to follow and the pursuit to change the way I depend on food. I obviously could have chosen to eat healthier without claiming the Whole30 title, but I really like the purpose behind the program. I’ve found that food gives me such comfort, no matter my mood, and that’s just not okay. Lysa TerKeurst put my thoughts clearly:

“God made us capable of craving so we’d have an unquenchable desire for more of Him, and Him alone. Nothing changes until we make the choice to redirect our misguided cravings to the only one capable of satisfying them.” – Made to Crave

This might sound super Christian (which I’m totally okay with), but I often times crave food more than God. Obviously food is important. But it isn’t more important than God. And when I’m finding more comfort in my bowl of Graeter’s ice cream, snuggled on the couch with my husband, rather than deep in the Word and in prayer with Jesus… there’s a problem.

Maybe you’re that way too. Maybe you don’t even realize how much time and energy you put into thinking about food. Maybe you focus on how little food you need to get by because you don’t like what you see in the mirror. Or maybe you focus on how much you can eat because every part of you feels so empty. Don’t be embarrassed. We’ve all been there in some way or another. At some point though, we’ve got to realize that food (and lack thereof) will never fill us the way God can.

So here I am. Whole30 bound. I’m not sure how much I’ll actually post about this journey, but if you see me, ask how it’s going. And if it’s after February 17th, let’s go get some donuts.


Here are some random pictures of my clean kitchen that is literally never clean. I figured we should start this thing out right with an empty sink, clean dishes, and washed down countertops.
Confessions | A Girl Named Logan BlogConfessions | A Girl Named Logan BlogConfessions | A Girl Named Logan BlogConfessions | A Girl Named Logan Blog


Oh and here is the recipe we made last night for our first Whole30 dinner. It is Hubby-Approved!

Okay, I’m done. Bye.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

