Over-said & under-used

However disappointing it is, I’ve come to realize that one of the most over-said and under-used phrases in the Christian community is, “I’m praying for you.”When someone gets sick, or has a rough day, how quickly do we jump to offer our prayers on their behalf and actually follow through? Not often. Unfortunately, this is probably true of all of us at some point or another.

Yes, I’m hanging my head in shame as I too am guilty, but there’s no time for a pity party – we’ve got to get it together! I believe this is probably one of the most neglected parts of our spiritual lives, when in reality it could very well be the most important.

Here’s why –

  1. We have the privilege and ability to communicate with our God. He is the Creator of all things, and how brilliant is it that He created a way for us to TALK to Him. We confess our sins through prayer. We ask for forgiveness. We worship and praise. We receive mercy and grace and healing and so much more. (2 Chronicles 7:14, Hebrews 4:15-16)
  2. We can actually overcome sin (through the Holy Spirit). Our war is not against other people. Our war is against Satan, the thief who only comes to steal, kill, and destroy. Scripture says over and over again to stay close to the Lord and the evil one won’t even touch us (Galatians 5:16, 1 John 5:4). Through prayer we create a relationship with God and He gives us the strength to endure.
  3. We express our commitment and obedience to God. It is clear throughout scripture that God created us and calls us to pray (Romans 12:12, Philippians 4:6, Colossians 4:2). He commands us to pray, so we should pray. Simple as that.

Now, if I haven’t convinced you enough with my three super awesome reasons to pray (insert laughing emoji here), then take a second to watch this short video of Timothy Keller briefing one of his new-ish books on prayer, which I highly recommend. He’s a genius.

We have his books scattered throughout our house and his podcasts constantly streaming. Did I mention he is a genius? You can’t get more clever by naming a book on prayer – Prayer. Amirite?

In order to not hang my head in shame any longer due to my lack of follow through, I’m committing to pray for you. I’ve created a new page where you can send me your prayer requests, and I’ll send mine back. Let’s go to the feet of our Father together and really experience the power of prayer.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

