Sealing up September.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetI don’t know how time does it, but days seem to drag on with months completely flying by. September took forever to arrive and now as I just started getting used to her being around, she headed out the door. Not that I don’t love October, because I do as much as the next #basic girl, but September is one of those months that gets looked over and I don’t think I am ready to say goodbye. We love August because for many it is the last month of summer with less responsibilities and who can deny the glory of longer nights with the sun setting well after suppertime. And of course we love October because pumpkin spice and Halloween and crunchy leaves and neutral fall decor. But what about those 30 days smashed in the middle? I don’t think September gets the recognition it deserves so I am here to give it just that. There is no better way to seal up a month than by looking back on all the fun you had during it.Processed with VSCO with a6 presetBy now you should know I love me some Kentucky football. This was the first season in a few years that I wasn’t working for the football team in some capacity so it was quite bittersweet for me. Win or lose, I will always bleed blue. This season has been an interesting one, in a not so good way, but there is just something about being at Commonwealth Stadium that I can’t get over. And in case you have forgotten, I get a little crazy when fans don’t act like fans.IMG_9679.JPGA dear friend of mine got married a few weeks ago and I got to spend the weekend with some of my best friends from college. We have been separated by distance since we graduated in 2014 so these short weekends together mean everything. Sarah, the bride, writes over at Kindly Kentucky and they always get me in the spirit for whatever holiday or event is coming up. Every time I am reunited with my college friends, I am always surprised at how so much has changed and yet so much hasn’t. Thankful for friendships that will last a lifetime.Processed with VSCO with a6 presetFor my birthday this year, Spencer got me tickets to see the Dixie Chicks. I can’t even put into words how pumped I was for this concert. Hubby knows me well. The last time I saw them I was nine years old and you would have thought two weeks ago I was still nine years old with the screaming and crying and jumping up and down that ensued. Also, forever being taken over by the beard.Processed with VSCO with a6 presetThe last day of September was spent with one of my dearest friends preparing for our Fall Yard Sale and baking treats that we fought to consume. We made this and this and this. I have found a friend who loves so many of the same things as me and I just can’t even deal. She is also pregnant and I have already claimed her unborn baby as my God-child. A little crazy? Maybe. What is even crazier is the fact that we drove two hours to IKEA after hosting a yard sale all day, just to spend two hours there. We had a fun time considering the spontaneity of the trip and jamming to some early 2000’s on the way home.Processed with VSCO with a6 presetThe best part of September is wrapped up in that swaddle blanket. WE HAD A BABY. And of course by “we” I mean the warrior mom, also known as my sister-in-law, in this photo. I am now an aunt three times over and just when I thought I couldn’t love someone more, Gavin Cole entered this world and my heart burst into a thousand pieces. We won’t get to snuggle and kiss this sweet boy until December so for now we will be Facetiming and showing off every photo of him we get.

Oh, and I can’t forget this goofy boy (who stole my heart the minute I laid eyes on him too):Processed with VSCO with b1 presetSeptember, you were a breathe of fresh air. Thank you for giving the things that needed to be given, and taking the things that need to be taken. Thank you for bringing the cooler weather and warmer sweaters; the open windows and layers of covers. May we always take the time to look back on the days we are given and seal up in our hearts every single moment.

In the deep fall
don’t you imagine the leaves think how
comfortable it will be to touch
the earth instead of the
nothingness of air and the endless
freshets of wind? And don’t you think
the trees themselves, especially those with mossy,
warm caves, begin to think
of the birds that will come — six, a dozen — to sleep
inside their bodies? And don’t you hear
the goldenrod whispering goodbye,
the everlasting being crowned with the first
tuffets of snow? The pond
vanishes, and the white field over which
the fox runs so quickly brings out
its blue shadows. And the wind pumps its
bellows. And at evening especially,
the piled firewood shifts a little,
longing to be on its way.

“Song of Autumn” – Mary Oliver

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

