The easiest banana bread you’ll ever make.

Sometimes I begin perusing Pinterest and get these lofty ideas to rearrange our entire house, spend way too much money at stores I can’t afford, craft some curtains out of leftover fabric from a previous imaginary sewing project, and bake a dessert worth sharing with everyone on our street…all in the same afternoon. I don’t know what it is but Pinterest knows just how to motivate a girl to become mightier than she is only to send her spiraling back down to reality. In my reality, rearranging furniture means moving a side table to the other side of the couch, expensive shopping means Old Navy, and crafting means building IKEA furniture and certainly not sewing, however, bake – I can. Before we moved into our house, I could often be found in our kitchen on a Saturday morning baking scones, oatmeal, bread – you name it (clearly, as long as it’s a carb). Time has been limited lately and most of our Saturdays are filled to the brim but when I found myself with nothing to do this Saturday morning except spend some time in the kitchen, I preheated that oven real fast.

Because most of my Pinterest attempts have been nothing short of failure, I decided to sift through one of my favorite food blogs, Cora & Louise. A good friend of mine is half of this blogging-duo and she not only makes the yummiest meals, she also makes every meal insanely gorgeous. Her photos make me both jealous and proud. You can check out more of her work here.  Although I am too scared to attempt most of her creations, after looking at her banana bread recipe I figured I could give it a try. And it was a success!To make things even better, this recipe was so easy. Does anyone else agree that one of the best feelings in the world is pulling a successful loaf of bread out of the oven? I beam with an embarrassing amount of giddiness when this happens and I want all of my people there to witness the miracle. I have produced many flops when it comes to baking so when something turns out right, I bask in my culinary achievement by photographing the evidence, hence the purpose of this post. To gloat and show off my one win in a million losses in my saga of the Kitchen Wars. We may own the most needy cats. Wherever we are, they are. Wherever we go, they are sure to follow. Even when we leave for less than an hour, both are typically waiting at the door for our return and if they aren’t, they come running as soon as the door opens. One sleeps at our feet while the other sleeps on our heads. I adopted Penelope (gray) when I was a senior in college. She is the sweetest buddy. Because our previous townhouse didn’t allow pets, Penelope lived with my mom, along with her three cats (#catlady), so when we finally got her back, she was rather lonely. Introducing the runt, Pip. They don’t get along quite yet as Pip always wants to play and Penelope always wants to chill, but they keep each other company and make us laugh with their dog-like personalities (like playing fetch, for example). Both were, of course, present for the banana bread making. While this heavenly batter baked in the oven, we spent the rest of Saturday working on little projects around the house. Spencer (with the much-needed help of my sweet MIL) began painting our kitchen and dining room on Friday so he had some trim work to finish and I rearranged our guest bedroom. Because I am pregnant, being around paint fumes is apparently a no-no, so the rather large paint job I’ve been begging for has fallen on my poor husband’s shoulders. But he’s awesome and rarely never complains and has worked hard to make my neutral dreams come true throughout our house.My favorite part of our house is the screened-in back porch and with such a balmy day outside, we left the door wide-open for the cats to run in and out at their leisure and I enjoyed the fresh air. We moved Spencer’s desk that was in the guest bedroom out to the porch for a dining table and I plopped myself down for the rest of the afternoon painting little IKEA shelves and listening to my summer anthem – the Dixie Chicks.

Okay, enough rambling. You want what you came for…the easiest banana bread recipe you’ll ever make.Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  • 2 mushy brown bananas (The original recipe calls for 2-3 but I don’t like my banana bread too banana-y so I used two. Also, mine were frozen so I let them thaw until mushy.)
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • handful of chocolate chips (Unless you don’t want your banana bread to have chocolate chips, which I think is a sin.)
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Butter a loaf pan. And I mean, really butter it.
  3. Mash bananas and stir in melted butter.
  4. Add baking soda and salt.
  5. Stir in sugar, beaten egg, and vanilla extract.
  6. Mix in flour.
  7. Add in chocolate chips.
  8. Pour batter in loaf pan and sprinkle a few extra chocolate chips on top.
  9. Bake for 40-45 minutes.
  10. Let loaf cool completely before removing from pan.

Again, this recipe is adapted from my dear friend Katie and you can find her original genius here

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The easiest banana bread you’ll ever make.

  1. Pingback: Today at 23 weeks. | A Girl Named Logan

Leave a Reply

