Life Lately.

Our last trip to the beach.

The calendar may say today is Thursday but my plane ticket to the beach scheduled for tomorrow says today is actually Friday and I just can’t tell you how thrilled I am. I don’t think there is anything better in the world than a Friday off of work, and when you combine that with a Monday and Tuesday off of work plus time at the beach, there really is nothing better in the world. Because my last few posts have been rather heavy and considering I am in the happiest of moods today, here’s a glimpse of life lately for us Hahns and all the good we’ve stuffed into our days.

Not our new home but our new city.

What’s changed: At the end of March, Spencer and I moved out of our first home together and into our first “we actually own this” home in a new city. Spencer accepted a position as the Life Groups and Guest Experience Leader at an incredible church so we took the plunge and moved to be closer to his work. Now I have a little commute to and from work but you all know how much I need my Transition Time, so those extra minutes in the morning and afternoon have become some of my favorites throughout the day. As if buying our first home and moving to a new city and attending a new church weren’t enough changes in our lives, we are also expecting our first baby in several months. Nothing like knocking out big life changes all at once, amirite?! We got to see our little crazy this week and she is as wild and healthy as ever. I’m still struggling through the whole “I’m going to be a mom” reality but every day it gets a little easier.

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

UK spring football game.

What’s the same: With so many changes in our lives recently, I’ve found that it’s so easy for me to focus on what is different, letting that overwhelm me, rather than focus on what is still the same. Change is not something I welcome with open arms, of which I am sure God is trying to break me of if these last few months have told me anything. I’m also a dweller. So when change does happen, I dwell and dwell and dwell. And not in that super spiritual, crunchy way. More like the anxious, overwhelmed way. But I’m forcing myself to focus on what hasn’t changed and actually, a lot is the same. Like how we are so ready and excited for football season this year. We might be toting around a little baldy, but football games we shall attend. Fall has always been our favorite time of year and I’m excited to be at Commonwealth Stadium for another year of wishful thinking that this just might be the year for us. Other things that are still the same: my job, our unconditional love for Sherlock (despite how different and unsatisfying the fourth season was), date nights at new places, and fighting my loathing of grocery shopping.

Halfway through.

What I’m learning: This season has taught me more than I think I wanted to learn. Things like how every pregnancy is different and comparing mine to someone else’s is a recipe for disaster. Needing someone doesn’t mean I’m weak. No husband, or baby, or relationship, or home decor, or job will ever fully satisfy my soul. Writing gives me so much energy and life, and I need to do it more often. The stroller I choose or the way we handle baby sleep or all natural verses an epidural are all trivial in the grand scheme of things. I need Jesus. Oh how I need Him. Life happens outside of tiny squares. Saying what you need out of a relationship is not selfish. And boundaries aren’t either. I am more of an introvert than I realize. Being pregnant makes me bossy (well, more bossy than usual). I love banana peppers but probably not as much as the juice.

Meet Pip. Penelope’s sometimes arch-nemesis, sometimes best friend. 

What I’m loving: Maternity leggings. WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN ALL MY LIFE? Will I go back to those lumpy, tight in the wrong places, don’t even come up to my belly button, not-pregnant leggings after this girl comes? You bet NOT. I will be wearing these and these for the rest of my days. If I’m buried in them, you won’t hear me complaining from heaven. Also, I have reconnected with Pinterest since moving into our new house and am all about making our home a classic, timeless, restful place, rather than one crowded with Hobby Lobby decor and words on every surface. Speaking of baby sleep, I’m really into this book. I know there are mixed reviews on whether this is how you should or should not sleep train, or if sleep training is even an acceptable way of parenting, but I think it might really work for us and the lifestyle we want to have as a family.

These two. Always there.

What’s happening: We’ve got a little baby-moon trip planned for this weekend. Before we knew I was pregnant we ordered tickets to see Eric Church (Spencer’s most favorite artist) in Nashville this weekend but through the haze and struggle of those first few months of being pregnant, I quickly realized how much I needed to get away and just be with Spencer. It just so happens that I have the most consideration and selfless husband in the world who insisted on selling our tickets and instead hopping on a plane for a few days in the sun. I will surely be blowing up Instagram with photos of the sand and water but don’t worry – I will spare you the photos of this rather large momma-to-be in a bathing suit. I know. You’re welcome. We also get to travel to Kansas City in June for my work. Spencer is a major Kansas City Royals fan so we’re very much looking forward to exploring this city when we have free-time.

Baby brother who isn’t much of a baby anymore.

What I’m needing: A healthy baby. More time to be creative. Less time spent worrying. Looser clothing. Time to slow down as my fifteen year old brother becomes more of a man every day. A shopping spree at The Summit (since when did Lexington become cool?). Reminders that my body will stop expanding at some point. An unlimited amount of chips and salsa at all times of the day. Quiet moments with my husband. A vision for the growth of this blog. Discernment in future decisions. To live closer to my college friends, or at least see them more often. Peace about life after pregnancy. A turn-off switch for our rambunctious kitten at three o’clock in the morning.

Clearly the first half of 2017 has been nothing but fast and full. I’m looking forward to making the second half of this year slow down a bit. Taking a look at where we are, putting it down on paper (or a blog post), and being able to eventually look back at how far we’ve come is a beautiful way to remind myself that the growing, stretching, difficult times of life don’t have to remain hard or uncomfortable. Those times are actually worth the push and pull, where the hard work produces sweet fruit, and proves that life lately is exactly as it should be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life Lately.

  1. Jeanna says:

    Girl you will be a great momma. Children don’t come with an instruction book and they are all different. There will be an adjustment just to figure out your schedule versus hers but it will work out. Once you see her and hold her the love will be overwhelming. You won’t believe that there was that much more in you and so it goes with each child, well, I only have two, but that’s how it was with each of mine. Spencer’s will be a great dad and he will help you.
    Love your blogs, love you and Spencer. Hopefully we will get to meet your bundle of joy.
    Have a great time at the beach. We haven’t been to the beach in a while and sometimes that’s just what you need. It’s refreshing and calming.
    Jeanna

    • loganhahn says:

      What an encouragement your comment was to me. Thank you for offering wisdom into this whole parenting thing for me! We would LOVE to get together with y’all once baby girl has arrived. Thank you again for reading and following along on our little journey. We’re hopeful for what’s to come!

  2. Cindy Rigsby says:

    Just make sure the doctor has epidural on the side. Lol. I didn’t have the choice since they didn’t make it an option. Lol. Back 38 years ago you were handed a wash rag. Lol. Just a little humor. We are strong women and you can to it naturally. To let you know, I just love your blogs.

Leave a Reply

