Tid bits.

We only left the beach a mere five days ago and I can already see the teeny tiny tan I mustered fade from my skin. The weather here in Kentucky is on the let’s pretend it’s still WINTER side, and I’m on the but I just wore sundresses and sandals LAST WEEK side. And not that I don’t like working, because I actually do, but who can blame me when I say I’d rather be teaching my niece that sand is in fact a good thing and not something to be terrified of (at which I failed miserably, unless you count her touching the sand with only her toes and not crying). In lieu of the beach breezes, sunscreen smelling skin, screaming/giggling baby niece and nephew, everyone under one roof, dinners at places with alligator attractions while you wait depression that I’m currently suffering, here are a few things helping me along this week.

Are any of you finding yourselves completely and utterly obsessed with the OJ Simpson trial? It only took me 22 years and a tv show to get hooked, but there’s no turning back now. Most of my friends are obsessed with the Bachelor and dedicate their Monday nights to rose ceremonies. I may have slightly laughed at their obsession, but to no avail I’ve found myself in their shoes. Except their Monday nights are my Tuesday nights, and there is no rose ceremony unless you count the trial. Not only am I enthralled with the show, but I feel as if I know the characters (the real people…) personally. This article breaks down the characters and whether or not they’re portraying the real deal.

I might be late to the rodeo but Madewell. Is. My. Jam. Neutral tones! Perfect brown leather! Vintage yet hipster! Ahhh – it gives me all the feels. Currently crushing HARD on this and this. If only I had a big girl job with a big girl pay check. Also, I’m pretty sure I made up “late to the rodeo” so just ignore that ridiculous intro.

If you’ve hung around me the last month, you know that I’m on a serious purging kick. After reading “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up”, I just couldn’t put off sifting through the crap I’ve accumulated over the last 23 years. And if you know I’m all about tidying now then you also know I’m obsessed with our home. There’s a part in the book where the author talks about how when you’ve got less stuff, the stuff you still have will fit right where it should, and I’ve found that to be so true! Our home is finally settling. Things are where they belong. We’ve found a system of organizing that works for us and every nook and cranny has a purpose. Forewarning before you come over, I will show you how every drawer is organized. And we have a lot of drawers.Did any of you read “The Velveteen Rabbit” as a child? A toy rabbit longing to be cherished and loved in order to become Real by his little boy owner. Of course there are other toys the little boy would rather play with, of which I must imagine would be iPhones and Apps these days, while the rabbit sits waiting. As so many children’s books are, this story is full of meaning that I hadn’t grasped onto yet until now in my twenties. I’ve been thinking of this quote:

“You become. It takes a long time. That’s why it doesn’t happen often to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”

And to end this entirely too long list of things I love, an article connecting Kanye West and Jesus. Bring on the Glory (and irony).Just for good measure, I had to include some food. Captain Crunch has taken over my life and I'm not about it.Just for good measure, I had to include some sort of food. Because food always makes me happy. And because Captain Crunch has taken over my life and I’m not mad about it one bit.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

