Keeping up with a blog is hard.

I was doing really good at this whole blog thing. Posting a few times a week. Sharing somewhat interesting photos. But as you can see, I’ve kinda sucked at this the last month. I’ve had several drafts saved, just no motivation to finish them. Sometimes life gets that way. You start something and don’t want to finish it. Or you’re worn out from work, household chores, homework, taking care of family, and everything else in between. That book you’ve been meaning to finish, or those chores you’ve been putting off, or the runs you keep telling yourself you’ll do “tomorrow” just never seem to get done. Maybe those are the things that don’t get done in my life. You’re probably put together enough to finish a book you started two months ago and I know you make time to run every day. Not this girl!

Anyway. In case you’ve been wondering what’s been going on lately, here you go. If you don’t really care (no judgement), here are some pictures of life lately. And if you really aren’t here for that either then I don’t know what to tell you.

February.Processed with VSCO with a6 presetUsually, February is one of my favorite months of the year. I love the anticipation for spring yet the lingering excitement of another possible snow. This year though, February was hard. As I’m writing this, I can’t really even put into words what exactly went wrong (except for one big bump in the road that doesn’t need any more attention than it received).

Maybe it was the lingering gray skies, and confusing temperatures. Maybe it was the stresses of work, or the beginning nudge for a career change. Maybe the lack of family time we had made this month hard too. I don’t know. But whatever it was, February was a hard month.

Our schedule was loaded too, which drained us both, and we don’t do drained. The Hahns can’t run on “every night of the week is booked” and “date nights are few and far between”. We need real time together, in our home, dinner at the table, and no distractions. Without that intentionality, we kind of crumble. (I think all marriages suffer when we don’t take time to nurture the people under our own roof before anyone else, but that’s for another day.)

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

One of the days in this insane month that we actually spent real time together was exploring High Bridge. Our friends in Wilmore have told us over and over again to visit this hidden Kentucky gem that’s only 15 minutes down the road and we finally took the time on a surprisingly warm night for February. Apparently this railroad is (or maybe was) the highest bridge over water in North America and the tallest railroad in the world!

Because of real life circumstances, February was a month of figuring out. Figuring out what works best for our marriage. What do we need to pray for? What do we need to take out? What can stay in? Figuring out our schedules. How many nights a week can we have plans? When can we lead bible studies and be a part of small groups? What areas in the church are we able to serve and also have energy to serve each other? These are all hard things to consider, especially when my opinion isn’t the only one that matters. Answering these questions (and more), and figuring out what works (and doesn’t) for the both of you is hard to do, but the reward is great. We’ve figured out the expectations for our daily lives, and the peace that comes is worth the work.

March.

Now March on the other hand is usually not a favorite month of mine. Honestly, I kind of forget its existence in the grand scheme of the calendar, but this year March has surprised me thus far. I know partly this has to do with the fact that I’m currently writing this post after just getting back from a walk on the beach with my family. So naturally, March is sitting pretty high on the calendar favorites list for me right now.

March has also been a month of figuring out like February but in a different way. Spencer has worked hard in organizing and leading the young adult ministry at our church, and this month he’s seen the fruit of his labor. We’ve started figuring out the plan of when we’ll meet for bible study, what we’ll study, how we’ll divide into life groups, and so on. We’ve started separate men’s and women’s life groups and have our first Sunday school class this weekend. Really exciting stuff! And doing ministry with this guy is a dream. A real dream.

We also purged our house in March. I recently read The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up and have #Konmari-ed the entire house. Every closet, counter top, and drawer has been sifted through, and over ten trash bags of clothes have been donated. And yes…I did ask myself if those socks brought me joy and I do catch myself saying thank you to my purse after carrying my stuff all day. Spencer mockingly asks, “Does this spark joy?” every time he goes through the mail. No Spencer, that Save A Lot’s coupon booklet (that we get once a week) does NOT in fact spark joy.

We also went to IKEA this month, and I don’t think I need to say any more for you to know why March has been pretty sweet.

And now we’re on Spring Break with the Hahn family and I couldn’t be happier. You all know how much I adore my sister and brother-in-law and my niece and nephew. Any other day I know we’re not ready for babies, but when I’m around those two, all my logic goes out the window and I look over at Hub with eyes that scream, “GIVE ME ALL THE BABES NOW.” I’m insane, I know.Β We’re here for the week and I’m sure you’ll be seeing more of their sweet faces all over my Instagram.

Most importantly though, this March brings the most bittersweet moment in history to the forefront. Easter. Over the last year, I’ve experienced a growth in my faith unlike years before. The older I get, the more I understand scripture and the gospel, which comes naturally with maturity. But this year, I’ve really been able to see God’s faithfulness in my life. Holy Week gives us the opportunity to slow down. To take in all that happened some two thousand years ago. To really meditate on Jesus’ death, burial, and resurrection in a way that maybe we don’t throughout the rest of the year. This week I’ve taken time to look back over the hard moments and times of pain, and I see God. I see Him at work. And the crazy thing is, during those times I maybe didn’t see God. I didn’t feel His presence. How beautiful it is to look back and see that He was there the whole time.

I’ve been more emotional and overwhelmed than usual this week. The reality of Holy Week, Good Friday, and Easter is that Jesus was born to die. God was sent to earth in the form of a baby, out of His perfect home, to live a life with sinners. And not only to live life with them, but to eventually die for them. And not only to die for them, but to become the ultimate sacrifice for them. To make all things right between man and Lord. He kept His promise. He rose from the grave, offering grace and forgiveness to all who believe. I’m overwhelmed just typing this.

Alright, I’m passed my word limit for a post. So, if you made it this far and want a recap of all the rambling:

February was hard. March has been good. Blogging isn’t easy to keep up with. And Jesus rose from the grave, beating death, and offers an everlasting Love for you and me.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keeping up with a blog is hard.

  1. Grandma Gallaher says:

    I enjoyed this very much and thanks for pictures! Some of our favorite people! Enjoy your week!

Leave a Reply

