Babies, husbands, & jobs…Oh my!

As I was driving home last night, it hit me how much life has changed. No longer do days consist of walking up and down the Hill to class, and weekends aren’t spent in a big white house with 16 of your closest friends sisters. Days now consist of working 9-5, and weekends are usually spent cleaning those dirty dishes in the sink and catching up on laundry.

When did life become so…adult? Wasn’t Alpha Acceptance just yesterday? (For those of you who don’t know what Alpha Acceptance is, don’t worry.)

Last night, as I sat around the dinner table with some of the best friends college gave me, I wondered how we got to this place. This place where we talk about birthing babies, and how raising them is painful and wonderful at the same time. This place where some of us live with boys husbands now, and how weird they can be (love ya S!). This place where jobs take up most of our time, and bills take up most of our money.

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Yet, although our conversations sounded different, and our days looked different, and our responsibilities were different…something was still the same. As we lingered outside, not wanting to say goodbye, hugging real hard, wondering when we’d see each other again, I realized the thing that hadn’t changed was our love for one another.

Good friends don’t come by easily. That’s what makes them so good. After graduating, moving, babies, husbands, and jobs, and every other change that comes after the college bubble pops, it can really be hard to find the time to get together. But we need to. We need to make the time for one another. We need to be intentional. We need to call, not just text. We need to stop saying, “We should get together soon!” and ACTUALLY get together.

Why? Because good friends aren’t easy to find and time is quickly slipping through the hourglass. I mean, Christmas is NEXT WEEK people. How fast did that happen? A second.

My sweet friend, Audrey, planned our Christmas gathering (and yes, Dirty Santa was invited too). A few weeks ago I asked Audrey if we were exchanging gifts this year. She knew finances were tight for us with the wedding merely a month ago, and she’s only been married a year so finances aren’t bursting at the seams for the Judds either. Her response: “I’m all about just spending time together.”

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

So, let’s stop spending hours online shopping. Let’s quit looking at the so popular “Gift Guides” that every blogger posts (with all the same gift ideas). Maybe finding the right gift is easier than we think. Maybe the right gift is our time. Let’s take our eyes off our phones, off filters, off captions, off emails, and Facebook articles. Instead, let’s take the time we spend in front of our screens this Christmas and spend that time with our people.

Why? Because good friends – good people – are important. Time is important. Change happens before you even notice something is different. I don’t want to spend the time I have on my phone, connecting with people via likes and retweets. I want to spend the time I have on the road, traveling to dinner to meet good friends. I want to hug them and listen to them and laugh with them and share with them. I don’t want to see their babies grow up through photo albums, or celebrate their marriages through hashtags. I don’t want more time to be spent at our jobs than with one another.

So, thank you to my girls for traveling across the Bluegrass to meet for dinner last night. Thank you for making time for what’s important, and for reminding me that although a lot may change…you all never will. And thank you for letting me take home the cutest ornament.

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

Babies, husbands, & jobs...Oh my! | A Girl Named Logan Blog

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Babies, husbands, & jobs…Oh my!

  1. PK says:

    Love the blog and the pictures! Merry Christmas ladies!!

  2. Pingback: You know Christmas break is awesome when… | A Girl Named Logan

  3. Pingback: My Best Eleven | A Girl Named Logan

Leave a Reply

